Hobson Lecture Prize - Sharyn McCrumb Faith in Your Future
Hobson Lecture & Prize Seal

apply to chowan online

Interested in attending Chowan? Visit these related links:

>Future Freshmen
>Adult Degree Completion
>Campus Visitation

class information

Stay current on CU Academics:

>Academic Catalog 2014-2015
>Academic Calendar 2014-2015

>Spring Exam Schedule 2015
>Perspectives - Spring 2015
>Academic Affairs Newsletter
>Student Achievement


Chowan Critical Thinking Program; elements, standards, disposition:

>Go now


Academics: Hobson Lecture & Prize

Mary Frances Hobson Lecture and Prize

McCrumb to Receive Hobson Prize

The 2014 Mary Frances Hobson Prize will go to Sharyn McCrumb.
The prize conferral and lecture is scheduled for Monday, April 28, 2014.


The Mary Frances Hobson Lecture and Prize for Distinguished Achievement in Arts and Letters is awarded annually by Chowan University to recognize the distinguished achievement of a person in the field of arts and letters. Preference is given to Southern writers and poets or those persons whose work relates to the South. The recipient, who is presented a medallion and monetary gift, presents a lecture entitled “The Mary Frances Hobson Lecture,” which is open to all area residents, Chowan University personnel, and all enthusiasts of the arts and letters in the region.

The Mary Frances Hobson Prize was initiated in 1995 and continues to be endowed by Charles and Sandy Hobson of San Francisco, CA through the Hobson Family Foundation as a memorial to Mary Francis Hobson, a journalist and poet. She was the first woman to receive the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award in journalism from the University of North Carolina. Mrs. Hobson, a native of North Carolina (1912-1993), always treasured her relationship to Chowan University through her aunt, Lois Vann Wynn, who was a graduate of Chowan in the Class of 1905 and a member of the faculty (1908-1915).

The stature of the Hobson Prize has grown over the years to the point that it is a highly coveted honor. Recipients include highly established authors as well as others whose careers are rising. Chowan University is honored to have the Hobson Prize as a significant part of the academic program.

Previously honored recipients are:

- Joseph Bathanti (2013)
- Silas House (2012)
- Robert Morgan (2011)
- Lee Smith (2010)
- Darnell Arnoult (2009)
- Judy Goldman (2008)
- Josephine Humphreys (2007)
- Michael Parker (2006)
- Shelia P. Moses (2005)
- Chuck Sullivan (2004)

- Sheri Reynolds (2003)
- Padgett Powell (2002)
- Allan Gurganus (2001)
- Amy Hempel (2000)
- G.D. Gearino (1999)
- Randall Kenan (1998)
- Jill McCorkle (1997)
- Mark Richard (1996)
- Kaye Gibbons (1995)

Return to Top

Copyright © Chowan University. All RIGHTS RESERVED. All trademarks mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.