Faculty Community Service Award Finalists Announced

The Excellence in Faculty Community Service Award is presented annually to a faculty member in recognition of his or her record of service to the university and community. The criteria for the award include: 

  • involvement with charitable, nonprofit, church, public service, or similar organizations in his or her community; 
  • dedication to strengthening the spirit of civic engagement;
  • commitment toward furthering the practice of service learning;
  • participation in the life of the university that transcends professional responsibility; and/or
  • contribution of professional expertise in service to the wider community.

The 2016 finalists are:

  • Sarah Bonner, Assistant Professor of Library and Information Science
  • Lewis Nicholson, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
  • John Pond, Assistant Professor of Religion
  • Aaron Rice, Assistant Professor of Music
  • Brenda Tinkham, Professor of Education

The 2016 award recipient will be announced at the Faculty Excellence in Community Service Award Dinner on Tuesday, March 15 at 6:00 p.m. in the Chowan Room.

Posts from February 2016

February 26, 2016
Anthony Rawlings, who graduated from Chowan in 2011 with a degree in Religion, shared his life’s journey with members of the Talon Club.
February 26, 2016
Cynthia Nicholson has been selected as one of the participants in the 2016-2017 Senior Leadership Academy, which is sponsored by the Council of Independent Colleges and the American Academic Leadership Institute.
February 26, 2016
The Chowan University Faculty Advisor of the Year Award is given each year to recognize excellence in academic advising. All students, faculty, and staff were invited to nominate an academic advisor. The finalists for the 2015-2016 Faculty Advisor of the Year Award are:
February 19, 2016
On Sunday, February 28, Chowan University invites the community to view the classic film The Terminator, the fourth and final film of the 2015-2016 Films@Chowan series. The event will begin at 2:00 p.m. in Vaughan Auditorium, Robert Marks Hall.