Chowan University Pi Gamma Mu recognizes students at Ceremony

The international honor society in social sciences, Pi Gamma Mu, at Chowan University held its awards and induction ceremony to recognize students and faculty, and welcome newest members.

The North Carolina Alpha Beta Chapter Student Awards were presented to a Pi Gamma Mu member in each of the social science majors and one award to a graduate majoring in a field outside of the social sciences. To be eligible, the student must be a graduating senior and have demonstrated academic excellence in their field of study. The 2018 recipients include:

Criminal Justice Student Award - Rayven Freeman of Leland, NC

History Student Award - Danielle Weldon of Glen Allen, VA

Psychology Student Award - Wyatt Ray of Hobbsville, NC

Social Sciences Student Award - William Holland of Murfreesboro, NC

Academic Student Award - Amber Smaltz (biology) of Norfolk, VA

Courtney O’Keefe of Toronto, Ontario, Canada, received the Scholarship Award, a time-honored tradition of Pi Gamma Mu, given to an outstanding graduating senior who has distinguished him/herself in the social sciences. She received a Pi Gamma Mu medallion with her name and the date engraved on the back.

Awards also included the North Carolina Alpha Beta Chapter Faculty Award, presented to Dr. Cicely Cottrell, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice. This student-selected award recognizes a faculty member in the social sciences for teaching excellence and commitment to the ideals of Pi Gamma Mu.

Thirty students were inducted into the honor society: 


Ruth Attakpa of Richmond, VA

Arrington Bazemore  of Newport News, VA

Ronnae Berry of Randallstown, MD

Ravine Billy of Thomasville, NC

Corey Bolam of Greenville, NC

Donielle Davis of Wake Forest, NC

LaTeshia Davis of Pendleton, NC

Courtney Early of Colerain, NC

Tiffany Freeman of Ahoskie, NC

Adrianna Harris of Raleigh, NC

Shakira Harris of Norfolk, VA

Eryka Harrison of Thomasville, NC

Jacob Hunter of Tarboro, NC

Tiara James of Greenville, NC

Caleb Lassiter of Philadelphia, PA

Jasmine Latney of Arlington, VA

Loricia Martin of Henderson, NC

Sherrill Moss of Seaboard, NC

Isaiah Nixon of Goldsboro, NC

Treielle Pearson of Newport News, VA

Rachel Russ of Pantego, NC

Blake Rutledge of Newsoms, VA

Marques Scott of Roanoke Rapids, NC

Tykeia Urquhart of Pendleton, NC

Brie Wakefield of Rolesville, NC

Isiah Warren of Courtland, VA

T'Nia Williams of Chesapeake, VA

Anita Winfield Gonzales of Petersburg, VA

Monica Young of Murfreesboro, NC

President Kirk E. Peterson, Associate Professor of Psychology Shirley Alt, Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice Cindy Britton, and Assistant Professor of Economics Sarah Reed were among the new faculty members who were also inducted into the honor society.

Pi Gamma Mu is the oldest honor society in the social sciences. Its mission is to encourage and recognize superior scholarship in social science disciplines and to foster cooperation and social service among its members. Pi Gamma Mu serves the various social science disciplines which seek to understand and explain human behavior and social relationships as well as their related problems and issues. There are roughly 150 active chapters in the United States and overseas.

Please join Chowan University in congratulating these students and faculty.  

Amanda Bradshaw Sharpe | University Relations |

Posts from December 2018

December 14, 2018
Chowan University announced six new Board of Trustee (BOT) members: James “Jimmy” Eason, Michael “Mike” Vance Hendley, Reverend Billy R. Howell, Milton “Mick” Allen Outten, Walter “Walt” Fletcher Pierce, and Lisa Liverman Turner, at a meeting on December 6, 2018.  
December 13, 2018
The Chowan University Criminal Justice Club held its annual Officer Appreciation Dinner on Thursday, November 29th, at the Murfree Center in honor of local law enforcement.   
December 12, 2018
After a decade of faithful service at Chowan University, Liz Brown will retire as Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of Development at the end of December. Brown will be succeeded by Twyla Duke, who has served the University in many capacities for over twenty years.
December 10, 2018
Jennifer Newhouse, Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Chowan University, will take part in the Gilbert-Chappell Distinguished Poet Series, selected by the North Carolina Poetry Society (NCPS).