Alpha Chi Members Present at National Convention

Led by Alpha Chi co-sponsor Syble Shellito and Alpha Chi alum Jennifer Humphrey, twenty-three members of the Chowan University North Carolina Phi Chapter of the Alpha Chi Honor Society are attending the Alpha Chi National Convention in Alexandria, Virginia, on April 7-9. During the convention, thirteen members will present their research and creative activities, competing for academic prizes.
The students presenting are:

  • Zulay Romero, “International Sights”
  • Shannon Lassiter “Invisible Slave: Sex Trafficking in America”
  • Issa Farhoud, “The Beauty of Nature”
  • Crystal Sarnor, “The Effect of Inner Nuclear Membrane Proteins on Copy Number Variation”
  • Forrest Robinson, “Soil respiration in a swamp forest, mixed deciduous forest, and planted pine forest within the Meherrin River Field Site”
  • Breon Jones, “Adjective”
  • Rachel Clark, “Desirable Characteristics of Coaches and a Perception on Their Coaching Abilities Based on the Effect of Gender”
  • Des'monay Barnes, “Stress Correlations with Student Involvement and Work Hours”
  • Calvin Bowe, “Mass Shootings and Mental Illness”
  • Elonga Manseka, “John 14: 15-18”
  • Melissa Hernandez, “A New Breed of Artistry”
  • Sierra White, “An exploration into Photography”
  • Charles Mustian, “Piano Sonata No. 21, Op. 53 ‘Waldstein’ 3rd movement by Ludwig van Beethoven”

Other members attending are:

  • Jasmine Bates
  • Suraya Chase
  • Gabrielle Grant
  • Carl Nicely
  • Sidney Nickens
  • Warren Powers
  • Abigail Salazar
  • Terrain Sharp
  • Eugene Whitaker
  • Courtni Williams 

Posts from April 2016

April 29, 2016
Vaughn Byrd is the recipient of the Vera Parker Womble Christian Service Award.
April 29, 2016
Garth Faile, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, will retire on May 7 after forty-five years of service. Tom Whiteman, Assistant Professor of Graphic Communications, will retire on May 31 after sixteen years of service.
April 29, 2016
Garth Faile, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, is the recipient of the 2015-2016 Excellence in Teaching Award. The recipient of the award is selected by his or her faculty colleagues. The criteria for the award are as follows:
April 29, 2016
Each year President Chris White, with the assistance of his Senior Staff, selects graduating students to serve as speakers for the Senior Banquet and Commencement Ceremony. Student speakers at the Senior Banquet, which was held on Thursday, April 28, included: