Faith in Your Future

apply to chowan online

Interested in attending Chowan? Visit these related links:

>Future Freshmen
>Adult Degree Completion
>Campus Visitation

class information

Stay current on CU Academics:

>Academic Catalog 2014-2015
>Academic Calendar 2014-2015

>Spring Exam Schedule 2015
>Perspectives - Spring 2015
>Academic Affairs Newsletter
>Student Achievement


Chowan Critical Thinking Program; elements, standards, disposition:

>Go now


Academics: Awards

Phi Alpha Theta Honor Society

The Chowan University chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society Twenty academically achieving students at Chowan will be new members of the university’s chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society.

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. The society seeks to bring students and teachers together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by its members in a variety of ways.

Phi Alpha Theta was established on March 17, 1921 at the University of Arkansas by Professor Nels Cleven. Cleven had become convinced in his time at the university that a fraternity of scholars (which would accept men or women) was important for the study of history. He invited students to a meeting to form the society (then called the “University Historical Society”) on March 14, and the society was officially recognized on March 17. In April, the decision was made for the society to be known by the Greek letters Phi Alpha Theta. The society has over 350,000 members, with about 9,500 new members joining each year through 860 local chapters.

New members will be inducted on Wednesday, November 14 at 6:00 p.m. in Vaughan Auditorium. They are:

  • John Allsbrook
  • Captoria Anglin
  • Chelsea Blythe
  • Debra Bobbitt
  • Carolyn Brown
  • Vivian Carter
  • Katherine Joyner
  • John Lohman
  • Jason McHenry
  • Clarence Miles
  • Niko Peele
  • Dana Scott
  • Tiffany Sessoms
  • Kisha Shearin
  • Krystle Shifflett
  • Thomas Simmons
  • Janet Smith
  • India Steele
  • Thomas Utley
  • Scott Van Eck

Current members include Jake Thornton, Jonathon Chisenhall, and Valeria Sawyer.

Return to Top

Copyright © Chowan University. All RIGHTS RESERVED. All trademarks mentioned herein belong to their respective owners.